+7 (909) 932-26-02


Keynote speakers

Sergey Chernyshev

Scientific Director, Central Aerohydrodynamic Institute, Russia

Sonic boom issue of the next generation supersonic transport: methods of evaluation and mitigation

About speaker

Russian scientist in the field of aerodynamics. Director of TsAGI (2007-2009), Executive Director (until 2015), General Director (2015-2018), Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences (2016).

Area of scientific interests. Developed new directions in the theory of sonic boom, methods for its calculation and minimization; the basic laws of influence on the sound impact of the shape of the aircraft, the flight mode and the state of the atmosphere are revealed; new configurations of supersonic aircraft have been developed, combining high aerodynamic quality with a low sonic boom level; Developed new methods for calculating the aerodynamic characteristics of aircraft.
Research has been carried out to control the flow, including active and natural laminarization, to create promising aircraft schemes with a high degree of integration and aerodynamic perfection, and to develop an experimental base.
Carries out scientific supervision of complex studies of TsAGI on the creation of sub-, supersonic aircraft of a new generation.

Medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland, II degree (1998);
Order of Friendship (2011);
Order of Merit (2011, France);
Laurels International Prize (2001),
Prize of the Government of the Russian Federation in the field of science and technology (2012),
Prize named after Professor N. Ye. Zhukovsky for the textbook on aviation disciplines “Introduction to the specialty. Aerodynamic aspects of flight safety “(2014, with L. A. Afanasyeva, Yu. I. Khlopkov);
Prize named after academician G.I.Petrov for outstanding work in the field of the theory of hydrodynamic stability and turbulence (2014, with A.F. Kiselev, A.P. Kuryachim);
ICAS award for outstanding personal contribution to the development of aeronautics;
Honorary citizen of the city of Zhukovsky.

Shufan Wu

Professor and Executive Dean of the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Shanghai Jiao Tong University

About speaker

Short-biography: Professor Dr Shufan Wu, the Executive Dean of the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), the founder and Board Chairman of the Beijing MinoSpace Technology Co. Ltd, was graduated from the Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics (NUAA) in China with BSc, MSc, and Ph.D. in 1990. He worked as an Associate Professor (1994) and Full Professor (1998) in NUAA, then he has spent 17 years in Europe working at the TU Braunschweig in Germany (1995-1996), TU Delft in Netherlands (1998-1999), Surrey University in UK (2000-2002), and the European Space Research and Technology Centre of the European Space Agency (2002-2013), working all the time in aerospace research and technologies. He also worked as the Chief Engineer and Manager of the China-French cooperated science satellite SVOM project and the STU-2 CubeSat mission during 2013-2017 in the Shanghai Engineering Centre for Microsatellites. He moved to SJTU in July 2017 as a Chair Professor, and simultaneously set up the Beijing MinoSpace Technology Co. Ltd in July 2017, a commercial company for nano-micro-small satellite technology and engineering.

Ping Lu

Professor and Chair of the Department of Aerospace Engineering, San Diego State University

About speaker

Ping Lu received his BS degree from then Beijing Institute of Aeronautics, and PhD degree in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Michigan. His research expertise and interests are in guidance, control, and autonomous trajectory planning and optimization. He was a professor of Aerospace Engineering at Iowa State University until 2016, and presently a Professor and the Chair of the Aerospace Engineering Department at San Diego State University. Prof. Lu is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and a recipient of the AIAA Mechanics and Control of Flight Award. Prof. Lu is the Editor-in-Chief of the AIAA Journal of Guidance, Control, and Dynamics.


NASA Johnson Space Center Director’s Innovation Group Achievement Award, on numerical entry guidance algorithm developed by Prof. Lu (2016)
Elected to be a Fellow of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) (2016)
AIAA Mechanics and Control of Flight Award, “for contributions in advanced guidance algorithms for entry and ascent flight” (2008)